Language selection

Search

Notice

The Canadian Food Inspection Agency website is currently experiencing intermittent outages.

We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause and would like to thank you for your cooperation.

Chapter 3 - Testing
3.3 Laboratories

This page is part of the Guidance Document Repository (GDR).

Looking for related documents?
Search for related documents in the Guidance Document Repository

Laboratories approved to test EIA, BLV and brucellosis – Buffered plate antigen test (BPAT)

Updated:

January 2020 (for EIA and BLV)
October 2016 (for Brucellosis)

Approved laboratory EIATable Note 1 BLV Bruc.
Animal Health Center (Serology Laboratory)
1767 Angus Campbell Rd.
Abbotsford, B.C. V3G 2M3
Tel: (604) 556-3135; Fax: (604) 556-3133
Contact: Roberta Yemen
e-mail: Roberta.Yemen@gov.bc.ca
Yes No Yes
Antech Diagnostics (Mississauga facility)
7555 Danbro Crescent
Mississauga, ON, L5N 6P9
Tel: (905)567-0597; Fax: (905)567-9021
Contact labo: Kathy Zito
Contact QA: Gregory Freeman
e-mail labo: kathy.zito@antechmail.com
e-mail QA: Gregory.Freeman@antechmail.com
Yes No No
Atlantic Veterinary College
Regional Diagnostic Virology Laboratory
550 University Avenue
Charlottetown, P.E.I. C1A 4P3
Tel: (902) 566-0877; Fax: (902)566-0723
Contact labo: Dr. Carmencita V. Yason (902)566-0752
Contact QA: Jodie Bowmaster
e-mail Dr. Yason: yason@upei.ca
Yes Yes No
Biovet Inc.
4375 Avenue Beaudry
St-Hyacinthe, Québec J2S 8W2
Tel: (450) 771-7291; Fax: (450) 771-4158
Contact: Dr. Pierre Hébert ext 230
Contact labo: Annie St.-Germain
Contact QA: Lise Descôteaux
Labo: ext 232
Fax: 450-771-2996
e-mail: stgerma@biovet-inc.com
Yes Yes Yes
Faculté de Médecine Vétérinaire
Service de diagnostic – Université de Montréal
3200 Sicotte, St-Hyacinthe, QC, J2S 2M2
Tel: 450-773-8521 ext 8534; Fax: 450-778-8107
Contact AQ: Véronique Boyer
e-mail: v.boyer@umontreal.ca
Yes No No
IDEXX Reference Laboratories (Delta)
1595 Cliveden Ave. Unit#10, Delta,
B.C. V3M 6M2
Tel: (800) 667-3411 ext. 52319; Fax: (604) 525-1705
Lab Manager : Lorraine May
email : Lorraine-May@idexx.com
EIA laboratory contact : Juliet Langcay
e-mail: Juliet-Langcay@idexx.com
Yes No No
Idexx Reference Laboratories (Markham)
1345 Denison Street
Markham, ON L3R 5V2
Tel: (905) 475-6499; Fax: (905) 475-7309
Contact labo: Grace Rejano, Ext. 250
Contact QA: Frederick Wong
Other contact: Jacklyn Choo: 905-968-6229
e-mail: Grace-Rejano@idexx.com
Fred-Wong@IDEXX.com
Yes Yes Yes
Prairie Diagnostic Services Inc.
52 Campus Drive
Saskatoon, SK, S7N 5B4
Contact: Gail Krohn/Karen Moline
Phone Gail Krohn: (306) 966-7952
Phone Karen Moline: (306) 966-1614
Fax.: (306) 966-7737
e-mail: karen.moline@pds.usask.ca
e-mail: gail.krohn@pds.usask.ca
Yes No Yes
True North Veterinary Diagnostics Inc.
6325 204th Street, Unit 320
Langley, B.C., V2Y 3B3
Contact labo: Jason Richmond
e-mail: chem.langley@truenorthvet.ca
Other contact: Dr. Allan Berrington
e-mail: allan.berrington@truenorthvet.ca
Phone: (604) 539-5550; Fax: 888-336-9408
Yes No No
University of Guelph Animal Health Lab
419 Gordon Street, Bldg 89
Guelph, Ontario, N1G 2W1
Tel: (519) 824-4120; Fax: (519) 821-8072
Contact labo: Dr. Davor Ojkic, ext. 54524
e-mail: Dojkic@uoguelph.ca
Other contact: ahl.virology@uoguelph.ca
Yes No No

Veterinary Diagnostic Services
545 University Crescent
Winnipeg, Manitoba R3T 5S6
Tel: (204) 945-7632; Fax: (204) 948-2654
Contact QA: Bev Lohrenz
Contact for BRUC: Chris Link-Muirhead
e-mail: Chris.Link-Muirhead@gov.mb.ca
Bev.Lohrenz@gov.mb.ca

No No Yes

Table Notes

Table Note 1

If you are interested in using a CFIA-approved electronic EIA certification system for sample submission, please contact the CFIA-approved laboratory to determine if they subscribe to the system.

Return to table note 1  referrer

Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) laboratories (updated March 2015)

CFIA's Animal Health Laboratory Services are delivered by a network of Centres of Expertise, each of which is the national centre for its area of specialization.

The Centres are located at the following CFIA laboratories:

CFIA Lethbridge Laboratory
(Animal Diseases Research Institute)
Township Road 9-1, Postal Box 640
Lethbridge, Alberta T1J 3Z4
Telephone: 403-382-5500
Facsimile: 403-381-1202

CFIA Saskatoon Laboratory
(Centre for Food-borne and Animal Parasitology)
116 Veterinary Road
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7N 2R3
Telephone: 306-385-7824
Facsimile: 306-385-7866

CFIA Winnipeg Laboratory
(National Centre for Foreign Animal Disease, Canadian Science Centre for Human and Animal Health)
1015 Arlington Street
Winnipeg, Manitoba R3E 3M4
Telephone: 204-789-2001
Facsimile: 204-789-2038

CFIA Ottawa Laboratory
3851 Fallowfield Road
Ottawa, Ontario K2J 4S1
Telephone: 343-212-0500
Facsimile: 343-212-0204

CFIA Saint-Hyancinthe Laboratory
(Health of Animals and Food Laboratory)
3400 West Casavant boulevard
Saint-Hyancinthe, Quebec J2S 8E3
Telephone: 450-768-6800
Facsimile: 450-768-6767

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: