CFIA area contacts for United States non-resident importers

Although the Safe Food for Canadians Regulations (SFCR) came into force on January 15, 2019, certain requirements are being phased in over the following 12 to 30 months. For more information, refer to the SFCR timelines.

The Safe Food for Canadians Regulations (SFCR) require that regulated parties notify the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) immediately when they suspect that they have sold, distributed or imported a product that may pose a risk to consumers. CFIA investigates the food safety notifications received by these importers. In addition, CFIA conducts Preventative Control Plan (PCP) inspection, surveillance and responds to food safety notifications from the non-resident importers. Non-resident importers do not have a fixed place of business in Canada under the jurisdiction of a CFIA office.

The table below has been developed to establish a link between Non-resident importers in the United States and the CFIA areas within Canada based on geographical profiles. This table is intended to:

  • Provide non-resident importers with a fixed place of business in the US with appropriate contact information to report food safety issues to the designated CFIA offices. Non-resident importers must refer to CFIA Notification and Recall Contact List to obtain contact information for notification of food safety issue
  • facilitate planning and delivery of PCP inspections of non-resident importers with a fixed place of business in the United States
  • allow CFIA inspectors to plan for surveillance activities and response to food safety issues reported by non-resident importers
  • to be used for designation of CFIA offices responsible for responding to inquiries from non-resident importers (for example; labeling inquiries)
CFIA Areas designated as the contact for Non-resident importers located in the United States
NRI's fixed place of business in US Atlantic West - Alberta West-British Columbia West - Manitoba Ontario Quebec West-Saskatchewan
Alabama X
Alaska X
Arizona X
Arkansas X
California X
Colorado X
Connecticut X
Delaware X
Florida X
Georgia X
Hawaii X
Idaho X
Illinois X
Indiana X
Iowa X
Kansas X
Kentucky X
Louisiana X
Maine X
Maryland X
Massachusetts X
Michigan X
Minnesota X
Mississippi X
Missouri X
Montana X
Nebraska X
Nevada X
New Hampshire X
New Jersey X
New Mexico X
New York X
North Carolina X
North Dakota X
Ohio X
Oklahoma X
Oregon X
Pennsylvania X
Rhode Island X
South Carolina X
South Dakota X
Tennessee X
Texas X
Utah X
Vermont X
Virginia X
Washington X
Washington DC X
West Virginia X
Wisconsin X
Wyoming X
Date modified: